On Air Now


Listen Live Now » 95.5 FM Wausau, WI


Current Conditions(Wausau,WI 54403)

More Weather »
63° Feels Like: 63°
Wind: W 8 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0”
Current Radar for Zip


Clear 40°


Mostly Sunny 68°

Wed Night

Partly Cloudy 41°


Brockmeyer Award Finalists Announced


The Brockmeyer Memorial Committee* listed below, is pleased to announce the recipients of the 17th annual Win Brockmeyer Memorial Scholarships, a program administered by the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin. The recipients will be honored at a recognition event scheduled for December 20, 2012, 8 a.m., at The Rose Garden in Wausau. 



The 2012 student athletes nominated by their school’s respective coaching staffs include:

§  Ryan Fay – Wausau West High School

§  Matthew Heeg – Newman Catholic High School

§  Jared Pankow – D.C. Everest Senior High School

§  Logan Taylor – Wausau East High School



From these nominees, a Selection Committee, composed of members of the press, area school athletic directors, and a representative of the Community Foundation, have chosen one of these athletes as the Win Brockmeyer Outstanding Senior High School Football Player of the Greater Wausau Area for 2012.  That announcement will be made at the recognition event. Each nominee will be honored with at least a $500 scholarship, and the student selected as the Outstanding Player of the Year will receive a $2,000 scholarship.



To be nominated, each student athlete must meet the following selection criteria, as established by the Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee* in 1996:

§  Graduating senior from D.C. Everest, Newman Catholic, Wausau East, or Wausau West High Schools (or any other greater Wausau area high school that develops a football program in the future)

§  Who is an outstanding football player;

§  Achieving recognition by his peers and coaches;

§  Who is a positive role model;

§  And displays the characteristics of:

Ø  Aggressiveness

Ø  Courage

Ø  Physical development

Ø  Sportsmanship


The Win Brockmeyer Memorial Scholarship Fund was formed within the Community Foundation of North Central Wisconsin by members of the Win Brockmeyer Memorial Committee with donations received from over 125 donors in Brockmeyer’s memory.



Brockmeyer was a legendary high school football coach who excelled in leadership and the development of human potential. His winning football record from 1937 – 1971 covered 34 years at Wausau High School, which served students in the area currently served by D.C. Everest, Wausau East and West, and Newman Catholic High Schools.  The area-wide scholarship recognition program concept provides area-wide participation and recognition, and unites the region in recognition of their outstanding football players.  It also provides an opportunity to tell the Brockmeyer story and focus on his football legacy, uniting the communities in the region through the cooperative selection process.


In the Win Brockmeyer Scholarship Fund’s history, 52 young men have received scholarship awards totaling $44,000.


Previous Outstanding Senior High School Football Player of the Year award recipients include:

2011                    Brandon Luedtke, Wausau East High School

2010                    Matiah Fischer, Wausau West High School

2009                    Tyler Day, Wausau West High School

2008                    Anthony Fischer, Newman Catholic High School

2007                    Tyler Utecht, Wausau West High School

2006                    Joe Gallion, Wausau East High School

2005                    Ben Fischer, Wausau East High School

2004                    Jordan Hein, Wausau West High School

2003                    Andy Crooks, Wausau East High School

2002                    Bradley Block, Wausau East High School

2001                    Mark Zalewski, Wausau East High School

2000                    Jonathon Wanta, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1999                    Bounthavy Khamratthanome, Wausau West High School

1998                    Derek Abney, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1997                    Heath Novitzke, D.C. Everest Senior High School

1996                    Timothy Freiberg, Wausau West High School

# # #