On Air Now


Listen Live Now » 95.5 FM Wausau, WI


Current Conditions(Wausau,WI 54403)

More Weather »
53° Feels Like: 53°
Wind: NW 16 mph Past 24 hrs - Precip: 0.18”
Current Radar for Zip


AM Showers 60°


Clear 41°


Partly Cloudy 67°


Election results: Mayors stay, some new faces elected


UNDATED (WSAU) -- Some familiar faces and some new ones were elected to office in Tuesday's elections.

Incumbent mayors in Wisconsin Rapids and Marshfield are keeping their positions.  Zach Vruwink defeated Mary Jo Carson in Wisconsin Rapids 2326 to 1022. Marshfield Mayor Chris Meyer will serve another two years. The three-term incumbent won a fourth term on Tuesday, defeating challenger Dorothy Schnitzler 1729 to 503.

Wausau had four challenged seats for City Council. In District 4, Tom Neal defeated Duane Maatz 254 to 149. District 6 incumbent Keene Winters held off a challenge by Steven Miller, 464 to 406. District 9 incumbent David Oberbeck easily won re-election over Jill Viergutz 153 to 81. In District 11, incumbent Robert Mielke defeated challenger Mark Lambert by a 314 to 111 margin, even though Mayor Jim Tipple was campaigning for Lambert.  Last weekend, Lambert told the Wausau Daily Herald he was “shocked and upset to learn mayor was making calls in his favor.”  With some of the city’s recent controversies like Thomas Street, the metal birds on Stewart Avenue, tax incremental finance district extensions, and the harassment complaint filed by City Attorney Anne Jacobsen against city employees, voters may have seen the mayor’s support as a negative.

The Stevens Point School Board will get two new faces and two familiar ones. Incumbent Bob Larson was removed from the board, coming in 7th out of the eight candidates for four seats. Incumbent Jeff Presley is back on the board, but placing 4th in votes earns him just a one year term. President Terry Rothmann did not run. The three year terms were won by Alex Kochanowski with 3,406 votes, Trish Baker with 3,043 votes, and incumbent Chris Scott with 1,943 votes. These totals do not count the Town of Grant, which had not turned in their ballots as of this report.

The D.C. Everest School District has selected two board members. Jason Jablonski had 1,186 votes and Yee Leng Xiong had 1,097 as the top two vote getters. Mary Hancock had 1,016 and Phil Salamone had 264.

Marathon County Judge Lamont Jacobson was uncontested in his first election since being appointed to the post last fall.

There were four contested races for Marathon County Board. Matthew Bootz defeated Beverly Krejci in District 13. E.J.Stark defeated Jim Maas in District 17. John Durham won District 26 over challenger Anneliese Sheahan. Allen Opall unseated Gina Cornell in District 37.

Former County Administrator Mort McBain is now a supervisor. He replaces Oliver Burrows in District 19. Burrows was forced to either keep his broadcasting job or keep campaigning for office due to equal time laws with the Federal Communications Commission. It’s the same federal rule that required Pat Snyder to leave WSAU in the last State Assembly race.

The Town of McMillan election for supervisors has a complication. They had four candidates, two seats, and a tie for second place. Norm Kommer had 185 votes. Both Gary Franz and Debbie Derfus had 176 votes. It’s unclear how the McMillan officials will break the tie.

In Rib Mountain, Jim Legner and Gerard Klein were elected to the Town Board.

The Village of Brokaw selected three Trustees from a field of six. Adam Dykman, Justin Haupt, and John Borth were elected.

Kronenwetter village residents selected Chris Voll, Mark Pertile, and Dan Lesniak as their trustees. Three of the five candidates in the Village of Rothschild were elected as trustees. They are Donald Bartz, Arlene Paulson, and Edward J. Stark. In the Village of Spencer, Harry Toufar, Wayne Hagen, and Diane Maurer were elected to the board. Stratford residents selected Tom Kolb, Cara Drexler, and Dale Heil as trustees.

The Weston village trustees selected were Sharon Jaegler, Barbara Ermeling, and Scott Berger. Former Police Chief Dan Vergin easily won election to the Schofield City Council, defeating kevin Fabel with 75% of the votes cast.

In the Wausau School District, former district employee Yvonne Henning and attorney Lance Trollop easily retained their seats in the election. Newcomer Jeff Leigh will join the board. The leading vote getter was Trollop with 3,459 votes, followed by Leigh with 2,882 and Henning with 2,840. A.J. Gordon, Mary Kowatch, and Chad Dennis all had less than 1,880 votes. The three challengers were critical of how the district handled the music issue. Dennis and Kowatch were also tied to an online petition calling for the resignation of Superintendent Kathleen Williams.

Mosinee school district residents selected Mark Gewiss and Cory Tomczyk as school board members over Jason Borski and Ryan Talbert. Michael Kaiser was uncontested in the Area 2 seat.

Two Marathon County towns had referendums. The Town of Knowlton’s referendum passed 88-to-41. The Town of Cleveland’s referendum failed by ten votes, 159 to 149.

Here are the links to County Clerk election totals: (Remember, some races cross county lines and their votes will only be a total for their county.)


PORTAGE COUNTY  (Portage County does not have all races.  Schools, cities, villages, and towns have their results locally.)